To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

A public leader is the one the most influential public personas. The author suggests, a public official must should follow the highest ethical and moral standards. I agree with the author’s statement about qualities of an effective leader.

Primarily, to be an effective leader one should contain several qualities and ethical and moral correctness are some of them. A leader not only achieves success but also inspires the youth to be like them. Therefore, it becomes necessary to be having these qualities when more people are looking at them. For example, Mahatma Gandhi led the Independence movement in India with truth and non-violence. Also, he was deliberate on the decisions he made in the way to live a modest and austere life. He influenced people to join the movement to free India from the British rule and following moral standards. Therefore, a leader should be cautious about maintaining moral or ethical standards.

Additionally, public officials are elected for the welfare of the people. In the age of information technology every action of them are noted by the media and by the public. Having good morals does not only helps them to get themselves elected but also keeps themselves away from doing bad deeds. Lack of moral standards produces corruption and nepotism which affects on the performance of the government. A leader would not do these acts if he has high moral and ethical standards.

In contrast, some may argue that after all it is their personal life and it does not affect on the work they do. The achievements can be achieved by the hard work, passion and dedication of a leader. For example, former U.S. president Bill Clinton was involved in a sex scandal, but he is still remembered by his great leadership. His leadership helped the U.S. economy to grow in hard times. But the involvement in the scandal overshadows his achievements. Also, German dictator Adolf Hitler was an effective leader, but he was ethically and morally wrong and by his actions many innocent people suffered. After all, the moral correctness play a big role in a public official’s achievements.

In the end, a leader is more remembered by his high moral and ethical behaviour juxtaposed with what they have achieved.