"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were all domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

In this memo, the owner of a chain of U.S. based cheese stores is recommending to reduce expenses by limiting the inventory. For this author suggests reducing storage of the imported cheeses. To support the recommendation the author presents some information. But there are some questions which author should answer in order to strengthen the argument.

Firstly, the author presents information about best-selling cheeses at newest store in last year but fails to provide any more details about sales from other stores in the chain. The author compared sales from the newest store to sales from other stores in the chain. Only one store has best-selling domestic cheeses does not conclude that all the customers of stores in the chain like domestic cheeses. Also, it may be possible that people in the neighbourhood in which the newest store is located, they prefer domestic cheeses over imported cheeses. So more information about the newest store is necessary.

Furthermore, the author fails to mention how the survey was conducted by Cheeses of the World magazine. Data of in which cities the survey was done is not provided, which is important to prove the credibility of the survey. It is possible that the survey was done in cities where the chain does not own any stores. In addition, the data about what questions were asked, what their salaries were, what age group they belonged, etcetera is not given. It could be a case where some subscribers like domestic cheeses because of their lower prices rather than it’s taste, or they belong to specific age-group. So the decision depends on the reliability of survey.

Lastly, the author fails to answer the question about how much profit both types of cheeses made by their sale. There is a possibility in which imported cheeses are more profitable than domestic cheeses, if this is the case then discontinuing stockings of imported cheeses will eventually lead to loss in the business. Not to forget, the author does not answer the questions if these stores sell any other products than these cheeses and if limiting inventory does any effects on their profits or not.

In the end, it seems that the author's argument fails to answer the questions discussed above. The author's recommendation to improve profits by discontinuing stockings of imported cheeses and by focusing on domestic cheeses, is flawed. So the decision should not be made based on the author's argument.