The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument suggested a foreseeable increasing need for dormitory space because of the growing enrollment. However, it says according to the trend, it will double over the next 50 years. The suggested growing rate is doubtful because the population wouldn't grow endlessly given the low birth rate.

Even though it insisted the average rent in the town is rising, it failed to compare the rent of dormitory and off-campus housing. Just because the town's average rent is rising doesn't mean that it is definitely higher than the dormitory fee.

Will the new dormitories attract the students is also needed to be clarified. For some students, living in the dormitory may mean the obligation of obeying rules, while off-campus housing is complete freedom.

This argument failed to provide the status quo of capacity of the dormitory and how students feel about it. So it's dangerous to make this decision only thinking of the future.