Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

In terms of great leader, it might remind us of those who had made the world change. There are some leaders who are successful because of their ability, but also have good reputation of doing charity like Bill Gates. Howerever, Steve Jobs had no doubt made great contribution to the world by producing the influential brand of 21 century, but also notorious of not acknowledging his own daughter. I would say, the leader's ability is a necessity, but we could never view a leader's ability and moral judgment seperatedly. In Chinese culture, there is a proverb goes like, first you manage yourself, then you can manage family, a country, and the world. It shows how important a person should know how to manage him or herself first to manage others. A leader's work is let team members create the max value, instead of get everything done by oneself. So a leader doesn't have to be the most skilled person in a team, but should be the one knows best about everyteam members' advantages. To sum up, recently there is a take-over bid in Japan, there are two competitors, one offers higher price but ignore stakeholders' fidelity to the company, while the other is there to help the target company but offer lower price. In the end, the one offer lower price but respect the culture of the company won. Speaking of making bigger decision, more relies on morality.