The following appeared in a memo written by a dean at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a new dormitory(4). Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends(1), should double over the next fifty years, thus making existing dormitories inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has increased(3) in recent years(2). Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, an attractive new dormitory would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham

In this argument, the dean recommends that for the purpose of the improvement of students’ housing, Buckingham College ought to build a new dormitory. The cited evidences that the number of the enrolled students and the rent of apartment in average have been increasing in recent years have been somehow related to the seemingly warranted recommendation. However, a close scrutiny of the argument reveals several insufficient and misleading pieces of evidence before we can fully evaluate the argument.

In the first place, the dean has tried to reach the conclusions that the shortage of apartment for increasing enrolled students leads to the consequences that it would be difficult for students to live in the campus.As a result, the dean points out that the establishment of a new dormitory would be helpful for students’ housing needs and attracting prospective students.But this argument has failed to provide evidence about whether the trends of increasing enrollment will continue in the future. It is equally possible that the change in the number of enrollment of students in the future trend would be opposite to that in the current trend.For instance, due to the impact of potential economic depression,fewer and fewer students would be willing to apply for Buckingham College. In this case, the conclusion in the argument that may be weakened.

Secondly, by analyzing the conclusion of this argument, we can find the unstated assumption that the rent for off-campus apartment will continue to increase in the following years. However, the validity of this assumption is challenger be some other possibilities. Certainly, it is likely that as the demand for rent of apartments rises,the rent price would increase relatively,but it is of equal probability that the demand would be undermined by the epidemic,fewer students want to rent the apartments, the market price of rent is possible to decrease.

Thirdly,even if the foregoing questions were all answered favorably,there remain questions that render that author’s whole reasoning logically flawed. To be more specific, the dean’s assumption that more prospective students will enroll at Buckingham conflicts the dean’s purpose of solving the housing problem.If the dean want to attract more students, then it could be more difficult to meet the demand of current students,and even have a negative impact on their housing problems. Before the dean can answer these questions,it is entirely possible that the dean overlooks the antagonism between two objectives.

To sum up, the argument is not based on valid evidence to sufficient explanations. To reinforce the argument, the author must qualify the recommendation by accounting for the missing evidences such as the change in the tendency of the rent of off- campus apartment and number of enrollment.