The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of the student housing at Buckingham College recommends that they build a number of new dormitories to meet the increasing enrollments in the college. He suggests that more students will opt for in-house dormitories rather than off campus housing due to increase in average rents in the town. Moreover, the new dormitories will also succor in attracting prospective students. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, one need further pieces of evidence.

Firslty, what is the percentage of the students that are choosing in-house dormitories? In other words, do most students in the college opt for on campus dormitories? The director mentioned about the increasing trend in the enrollments but did not give any information about the trend of the number of students staying in on-campus dormitories. There is a possibility that though the enrollments for the college are increasing, the number of students opting to stay in the on-campus housing has been almost constant or paradoxically decreasing. If either of the scenarios has any merit, then implementing the director's recommendation would lead to desetude of the new dormitories.

Secondly, what is the cost of on-campus dormitories as compared to average rent in the locality? The director asserted that since the average rent in the town has risen in the recent years, the students would find it difficult to afford off-campus housing. However, what the director failed to mention is the cost of the on-campus housing. It is possible that though there has been a rise in the average rent in the town, they are still below the cost of the on-campus dormitories. If this turns out to be the case, then the director's prediction that the students would choose on-campus dormitories as opposed to off-campus housing would fall flat on its face.

Finally, what do the students look for in a college to enroll in that college? The director does not take into account the various factors that a student would consider ot enroll himself in a college. Instead, he prematurely assumes that new dormitories would entice propective students to enroll in the college. However, this may not be true. Perhaps, there are a various factors like national ranking of the college, qualificatiton of professors, oppurtunities after graduation etc that students consider prior to the accommodation facilities. If this is the case with the students, then the director's naive plan to attarct students would fail.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands is unpersuasive as the director does not provide any information pertaining to the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the director can provide information addressing the above questions, perhaps in a detailed manner so that there is no room for ambiguity.