The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College claims that there is need of new dormitories. and this would further make prospective students to enroll at Buckingham college. However, the argument is based on inadequately supported assumptions and is rather unconvincing given the obvious flaws in the argument.

Firstly, there is no data provided on the growing number of enrollment at the Buckingham and no evidence is provided on the basis the author has assumed that as per the current trends, the enrollment will be get double over the next 50 years. there could be change in trends over the years. without any data it would be erroneous conclusion.

Secondly, it is assumed that due to the current surge in average rent for apartments in the town, the studenst will find it difficult to afford off-campus housing. however, the average rent could also decline over the next years, as it depends on economy and other factors of the country as well as the town. Also, the author has not provided the data how cheap the rent of the dormitories would be compared to the average rent in the town. So, without such figures or data it would be unconvincing to assume this.

lastly, the author assumes that the attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham college, but author fails to acknowledge the other factors that the students might look into before enrolling like the course fee, job opportunities near the college, etc. hence it can not be concluded that the new dormitories would be the only factor in proliferate the enrollements at the college.

In summary, the given argument falls short on many aspects. the argument did start with sound premise, however it lacked necessary data to strengthen the argument. For instance, if the author would have included the raw data how the dormitories would be cheaper than the apartments in the town. also, the current trend data for the increase in enrollment at the college would have helped the author drive home his point in far more convincing manner and establish a position with a shred of doubt. But, in the absence of these, the argument remains flawed.