The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the council, it was predicted that building a similar golf course and resort hotel like that in the town of Seaside Vista would generate additional tax revenue that can be used by the city to fund essential public improvements. This recommendation and prediction were based on the increment of the visitors reported by the Seaside Vista Tourist Board as well as the increase in the amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated to have the predicted result, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, is the increase in the number of new business loan applications the local banks received due to the 20% increase in visitors reported by the tourist board? It is possible that the new business owners had it in plans to apply for loans prior to the increased number of visitors the town had, making the increased in the number of new business loan applications and the increased number of visitors a coincidental situation or perhaps the new businesses aren’t all owned by the new visitors but mostly by the inhabitants of the town. If the above is true, then the argument holds water.

Secondly, are Brindleburg town and Seaside Vista town roughly comparable? That is, can evaluations made on Seaside Vista town hold true for Brindleburg town? Seaside Vista town could probably be larger than Brindleburg town in land mass has a good terrane which aided the creation of a new municipal golf course and resort hotel and also, Seaside Vista might perhaps have natural tourist-worthy objects and resources which compliments the new resort and golf course attracting more of these visitors. If these scenarios stated above hold true, then the recommendation stated in the original argument is weakened.

Finally, even if the new municipal course and hotel resort led to an increased percentage of visitors, does it result in an increase in the amount of tax collected by Seaside Vista? It is possible that the increase in the amount of tax collected is due to other sectors aside from the new resort and golf course or perhaps taxes that were not being paid earlier on were being paid. Also, the visitors might not be involved in paying taxes since they are just on a temporary visit to the town. If the above is true then the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to numerous unwarranted assumptions. If all three questions stated above can be answered and more evidence can be provided perhaps through a thorough research study, the recommendation of a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg town can be adequately evaluated to have the predicted result of additional tax revenue for the town.