The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of

UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than

did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test

of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer

cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group.

Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all

hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo written by the director of a large group of hospital, it was concluded that Ultraclean liquid hand soap should be stocked all through hospitals' hand washing station in order to avert severe cases of patient infections. However, while the conclusion drawn by the director might hold water, it relies on several unwarranted assumptions, if not substantially evaluated, critically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three assumptions must be properly addressed.

First, the director assumed without proper evidence that the Ultraclean hand-wash is responsible for the sharp reduction in the cases of patient's infections. This might not be the case. It is possible that those patients are responding well to the medications administered to them in the hospital. Perhaps, those medication contains active components highly capable of curbing infections together with their causative agents leading to the observed decrease in cases of infected patients. If the above scenero proves true, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly hampered.

Secondly, similar to how the author related the declined patient infection cases to the use of Ultraclean hand-wash, the author illogically assumed that decisions can be made based on the evaluation of a group of hospitals. That is, the research made on a group can be used to make generalizations and predictions about another. It is possible that the cases of infections in that particular hospital might not be severe and that not all cases of the infections are adequate recorded. There is a potential that only those with mild cases of infection are subjected to the use of the antibacterial soap hand-wash and that those with complicated cases are bedridden with medications and are not able to walk down to the basin to use the hand-wash, which may not be true for other group of hospitals. If this is the case, then the director should evaluate researches based on different groups. Doing so would effectively increase the credibility of the argument.

Finally, even if the Ultraclean hand-wash is responsible for the dwindled cases of infections, she assumes without evidence that the concentrated solution of the Ultraclean liquid soap wouldn't have a corrosive effect on the patients. It is possible that the concentration of most liquid hand-wash is reduced because of the possibility of having an adverse effect on the patients. There is a potential that the concentrated constituents of Ultraclean hand-wash could harm the patients thereby aggravating the cases of infections- perhaps washing their hands with the liquid antibacterial soap could sap moisture out of their skin causing severe burns on the skin, thereby leading to more exposure to infections. If the above is true, then the argument is considered flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several fallacious assumptions. If the director can provide evidences for the above listed assumptions and perhaps carry out a systematic research study, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the assertion that the frequent stocking of Ultraclean hand-wash in hospitals would avert severe patient infections.