Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behaviour.

Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Show/hide explanation

Please note that while you CANNOT copy & paste the text of your essay from this window, you CAN highlight your essay text and drag & drop the text into another tab or text editor program if needed.

Increasing penetration of media have led to increased violence in the society. Its effects are highly visible in younger generation and is pervasive among children as well. There is sustained impact of media on human psychology and behaviour. Human behaviour gets influenced by the media, social media, news, entertainment and its influencers.

There is a perceived notion of influencers and media affinity in the society. People highly respect actors, influencers and follow what is being seen on the screen. Acrued followership of these influencers and media is the main reason behind this human psychology. Media micro and macro influencers have become epitome of the society cultures. Clothing they put on, food they eat, brands they use automatically becomes the notion with increased demand in the society.

Humans by nature look for communities they want to survive in. Human pyschology is derived from becoming more likable in the society. Due to this, even things stigmatised by influencers get marginalised by the society and vice versa. For example, a children seeing a travel influencer getting popularity in the society, will automatically be drawn towards becoming a travel agent. A child watching a singer on daily basis, will automatically be drawn towards becoming a singer.

The question arises of how the initial likability gets in shape. The initial impact begins at home. Parents and peer groups definitely works as role models. But, their culture and day to day actions plays more important role than their thinking. Child learn from visuals, and not what is being preached. Children have high observation powers to adapt to the environment and the culture.

With the pervasive media and internet connectivity, everyone is drawn towards media. Parents watch Television while eating, play games, check social media or news while waiting in the line. So, the similar behaviour is drawn in the kids. Kids get to watch the media and learn what is visible in the media. Media by its nature is biased to provide entertainment more than teachings. for examplee, the movies on love stories impacts child psychology to have a pratner in young age, the movie on violence impacts the child to act like a villian or a hero. Even the movies on great characters also has a villian that automaticaly creates the biased stories. There is increased hatred, animosity and less of empathy in the behaviour.

There are definitely exceptions to these cases. But those are very rare. Only when the parents are highly stoic in their characters can teach their kids to be disciplined. There are many examples of parents and peers being great role models in the society, but that needs powerful habits in day to day life. Powerful character building requires great determination and conducive environment. For example, Swami Vivekananda, a great Indian legend has been learning from great mentor and parents with honest attitudes. There are many such examples.

Therefore, Children becomes what they see. Parents have to become real role models. If they are drawn towards media, children automatically will be inclined towards media. Media by its own nature involves a lot of violence, hatred and competitiveness. There is automatic inclination to be like that.