The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo Inc a chain of hobby shops Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon We discovered that th

In this argument, the authors recommends that southeastern Grilldon could be the site for the next HobCo Hobby Shop for HobCo. To substanitiate this recommendation, the author provides some facts. However, there are several questions needed to go through to determine the reliability of the recommendation.

First, it is questionable whether it is representative of the results from a poll of area residents. It is possible that the sample size is too small to support the whole picture so that the expected popularity is overestimate though 88 percent of samples are welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Moreover, it is unclear for the ages, gender and occupations of the samples, exacerbating the potential biased results. Without addressing this problem, the reliability of the recommendation cannot be determined.

Second, it is unclear whether the facts of Grilldon can be equally applied to southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon and southeastern Grilldon may have serious differences. For example, the increase of hobby business and the population of retirees in southeastern Grilldon are far less than Grilldon due to diffrent industry structure, making the analogy between them is very poor. Therefore, the reliability of the recommendation cannot be determined unless taking this question into consideration.

Third, even if southeastern Grilldon and Grilldon are sufficiently alike so that the facts of Grilldon can be equally applied to southeastern Grilldon, it is still problematic whether the popularity of the hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon will be actually huge. Given that the author only provides the rate of increase of the hobby business rather than the basis amount, it is possible that the potential market is very small even though it has increased by 300 percent. This possibility is increased provided that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon, otherwise there may be exist hobby shops to preoccupy market and make profits.

Forth, it is unclear whether the curent trend can be transmissed to the future. It is possible that there are big changes in the market and preference of consumers so that the current enthusiastic cannot be prolonged to the followings years. The authors does not provide any evidence to support the assuption that the enthusiasm about hobby shops will be unchanged. Therefore, the reliability of the recommendation and the predicted result cannot be determined unless addressing this issue.

To sum up, the the reliability of the recommendation and the predicted result cannot be evaluated only after taking several questions addressed as mentioned above.