The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc, the author suggests, the hobby shop chain set up its next shop in south-eastern Grilldon. To fortify this claim, the author corroborates his claims by stating that the region is currently devoid of any hobby shops, and has a copious population of retirees, who can devote their time to pursuing their hobbies. He also provides statistical evidence that Grilldon as a region saw an increase of 300 percent increase in hobby businesses in the past decade. And also, a survey report where 88 percent of the respondents favored welcoming a hobby business. However, the author's conclusion has the following three assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weakening the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the writer attributes the responses provided by 88 percent of the respondents to the overall population of southeastern Grilldon. However, We don't know have any mention of the proportion of residents who answered the survey. It is possible that only a small set of people responded to the survey, and the other major chunk of residents, who chose not to participate in the survey, are not actually interested in doing their hobbies. Also, We don't have any proof of the quality of the survey. It is also possible that amateurs took the survey or the questionnaire of the survey is biased. If any of the above scenarios holds true, then the author's contention of the residents being positive about the new hobby shop doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the writer presumes that all the provinces within the region of Grilldon saw a considerable increase in hobby shop sales similar to the 300 percent in the overall region of Grilldon over the past decade. But, we don't have any empirical evidence about sectoral contribution to the overall increase in sales. It may be the case that some of the places saw a decline the sales and the old shops had to shut down. We also don't know the reason behind the southeastern region, not having any single shop, till now. If at all, we have a business opportunity in that region, then why aren't other hobby shop chains investing in the area? If the above-stated reasons hold truth, then the author's claim to attract new customers by opening a new hobby shop in the southeastern region is not overly persuasive.

Finally, the consultant assumes that an abundance of retirees who would have a considerable amount of time would devote their time and energy to hobbies. Nevertheless, we don't have any idea about the health conditions of these retirees, it is possible that the health conditions of these elderly aren't that supportive deterring them from following their hobbies. Even if the health condition is supportive, it is also possible that the elderly want to spend time with their families at home and prefer not to step out often. If either of the above is valid, then the author's assertion on the healthy and welcoming sales of the potentially opened new hobby shop in the southeastern region will do little to convince the president.

In conclusion, the proposed idea of starting a new hobby shop in the southeastern region would likely boost HobCo, Inc's revenues. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unconvincing at best and void at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide evidence about the proportionality and quality of the evidence, territory-wise changes in hobby sales, and the health details (willingness) of the elderly.