The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

"Stay hungry, stay foolish" - Steve Jobs.

While in this fast-paced world, where people commonly take the natural phenomena around us such as the rising and setting of the sun, changing of seasons and other occurrences for granted, the majority of progress made by humanity is by adopting a questioning attitude and not settling for what appears to be. Steve Jobs has aptly remarked that to achieve any form of success in any field whether it be science or sport, one must always be willing to learn. It is commonly said that once we stop learning, we start dying and the first step to self-knowledge truly begins with the rejection of the familiar. Hence, it is certainly true that we can only begin our process of acquiring knowledge treading through uncharted waters and by rejecting the unfamiliar.

Throughout history, there have been several instances where progress can only by questioning the assumed theories. For example, it was commonly believed in the 16th century, that the earth was at the centre of the universe and the sun went around the earth every once in a year. Galileo Galilei, a renowned astronomer was not willing to accept the familiar knowledge even though that specious fact was widely believed around Europe. Thus, by taking the first step to understanding the true workings of the universe around us, Galileo rejected the accepted notion and proved through hard work and perseverance, that the earth was not at the centre of the universe and this is now the truth. Hence, we can see that to understand the world around us, one must be willing to have an open mind to all the possibilities.

Another striking example that accurately proves to us that we need to reject the familiar to progress towards knowledge, is the example of the pioneering Wright Brothers. In the early 19th century, it was widely believed that no human could build a machine that flies. The Wright brother had a vision and they wanted to check for themselves. They soon built a prototype which was actually able to fly and the rest is now history. We now live in an age of aeroplanes and getting from one part of the world to another is just an easy task.

The entire premise of science is based on rejecting the familiar and trying to find out what could be the actual reasons behind something. Even James and Watson Crick, the scientists behind the discovery of the DNA, the ingredient of life, were advent believers of the above. They could not believe that there was some supreme power that created and was responsible for all life. Hence, this attitude was highly beneficial and now modern science is based on the above premise.

On the other hand, it may be definitely possible that always questioning the accepted notions might not lead to any kind of progress towards knowledge. Sometimes one may expend huge amounts of money and time to test the familiar knowledge which might lead futile. Therefore, while having a questioning attitude to the different phenomena around us, one should also be reasonable to understand that in certain cases, this shall just impede progress. But again, as illustrated above, in order to grow and learn, we need to be able to expect the unexpected and be willing to take calculated risks. Had the Wright brother resigned after listening to the repeated notions that no human can build a vehicle capable of flight, and not rejected it, it may be plausible that we would not have had aeroplanes which are ubiquitous now.

In conclusion, wherever we need to make progress and face challenges, often questioning the familiar shall bring us great possibilities to learn and grow. We must have the will to embrace the unfamiliar and believe an trust for ourselves, for that is the only path for self-knowledge.