The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While the article in the Dalton Newspaper outlines the current precarious status of the city’s economy and concludes that the new factories are employing out-of-town workers rather than DaIlton residents, the article fails to account for several key factors and underlying information without which the author’s argument is difficult to substantiate. The conclusion put forth relies on assumptions which are rather weak, unconvincing and have several flaws and hence need to be examined much more closely.

The proposal of lowering corporate tax by 15 percent to encourage business growth and hence increased employment opportunities is a flawed one, as it fails to answer vital questions which affect the overall employment of the corporations. It may have been very much possible that the money that has been saved from the taxes could have been invested in automating the processes of the factories leading to heavy job losses for employees and thus lowering the employment rate. Thus, this could have been one of the factors attributing to the unchanged employment rate, rather than the argument put forth by the article citing out-of-town workers.

The article also states that the city has offered generous relocation grants to the companies, but it fails to provide any information regarding the nature and business verticals of the industries which have been provided grants. As an illustration, in the case of offering grants to companies having factories with highly automated processes, it does not alleviate the employment crisis. Hence, the author should include the details regarding which companies have been offered grants and to what extent are their processes automated. Consequently, due to the absence of such necessary details in the article, the conclusion put forth is exceedingly doubtful.

Another glaring inconsistency is that the author fails to acknowledge the possibility that there may have been citizens who could have left their present jobs in the city for the jobs offered by the two new factories and hence even though the new factories do employ a thousand employees, since all of them could have left their current jobs to switch to jobs in the new factory, there has been no net change in the employment rate. This again works against the argument put forth by the article and has not been considered in the article.

Finally, the city’s council’s decision to offer grants and other conveniences may not have been a wise one as there are no other pressing demands required from the corporations. The article fails to mention whether the corporations have been made to provide reservation for citizens of Dalton or not when being provided grants. This major omission affects the conclusion of the article and hence renders it highly vague.

In conclusion, it may be possible that the out-of-town workers could genuinely be taking up the jobs in Dalton and hence affecting the employment statistics, but under the premises of the article and the aforementioned inconsistencies, there are a lot of unanswered questions that need to be answered first. Without adequate details regarding the present employment of Dalton citizens and the demographics of the new factories, it is challenging to evaluate the conclusion of the article, and hence the article fails to deliver.