The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing."During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Exper

The vice president of Alta Manufacturing argues that Alta Manufacturing can reduce the frequency of on-the-job accidents at Alta by shortening work shifts by one hour. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the assumptions lead readers to doubt the validity of the argument.

First, the author assumes that sleep deprivation is the major factor of on-the-job accidents. However, this assumption is just an opinion and it is not proved objectively, and there are some other possible factors such as work intensity or work environment affecting the number of accidents other than sleep deprivation. If work intensity is the main factor of on-the-job accidents, reducing working time will not be effective for ameliorating accidents in company.

Second, the author makes an assumption that because of the difference between Alta Manufacturing and other nearby Panoply industries. The vice president is ignoring the fact that there could be other differences between these companies. For example, if other companies are providing safety training system and workers know ways to prevent on-the-job accidents better than workers in Alta Manufacturing, whether they have training system would be a critical factor which the vice president should consider.

A third assumption is that sleep time increased by one hour would be enough to reduce the number of accidents. Because of traits of three work time shifts, people who work in night shift are difficult to avoid fatigue regardless of duration of sleeping. Therefore, instead of reducing working time, devising system to relieve night workers' fatigue is possible to be more beneficial. For example, it could be providing massage service or assigning more workers in night shift to have break time.

In summary, the author’s claim is unpersuasive.