Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agr

In today's modern living, arguments about whether because of media scrutiny, it is impossible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero or not. While some people contend the former, others believe otherwise. In my opinion, although both opinions might have plausible reasons, without a doubt, I would settle upon the former one because for me, it is more convincing than otherwise. Certainly, I stand on this perception because of following reasons.

One of the reasons is that media focuses too much on issues attracting people’s attentions such as scandals. Even if someone is regarded as a hero for public, it is highly easy for media to destroy her reputation by disclosing her private issues, since media wants to increase the number of views to their articles or videos. Therefore, it is difficult for anyone to sustain their image as a hero while media only interested in attracting viewers present. On the other hand, some people contend that media enabled the reputation of hero to be spread quickly to the public, so it is media that creates hero, not ruins hero’s public image. Although it seems plausible suggestion at first, further researches show that it is a short-sighted opinion. It is true that media can induce public to regard someone as a hero, however then media itself will disrupt the hero in short time, since they need some shocking news to capture people’s attention and news dealing with negative aspects of hero is more proper topic than anything such as a national sports star’s sex scandal which destroyed all of his fame by one article.

An additional contention that cause me to support this side is that for better or worse, intense media scrutiny raises a presumption, at least in the public's collective mind, that their hero is guilty of some sort of character flaw or misdeed. This presumption is understandable. After all, I think any demographic study would show that the vast majority of people relying on mainstream media for their information lack the sort of critical-thinking skills and objectivity to see beyond what the media feeds them, and to render a fair and fully informed judgment about a public figure--heroic or otherwise. As I mentioned above, media tends to display the most controversial issues at the most front and people just absorb what they watch and listen through media without any rational doubt. For example, no matter how creditable a hero is, people will follow one article about a hero’s flaw dealt with in famous media, since they think media does not offer false information.

In summary, I strongly hold the opinion that media scrutiny tends to destroy the reputation of anyone regarded as a hero in modern society, because media pursues profit by offering provocative issues and people just accept information from media without serious critics.