"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

In today's modern living, arguments about whether the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition have or not taken place. While some people contend the former, others believe otherwise. In my opinion, although both options might have meritorious points, without a doubt, I would settle upon the former one because for me, it has more practical worth than otherwise. Certainly, I stand on this perception because of following reasons.

One of the reasons is that in modern society, cooperation is more highly regarded virtue than competition. Nowadays, various stakeholders are gaining profit from collaboration between countries, companies and fields rather than competing with each other. For example, free trade between countries make each other improve economy by easing selling more products. In this regard, it is manifest that we have to nurture young people as a leader who has brilliant ability in cooperation. On the other hand, there are some people who contend that competitions is more effective to increase benefit since people are more goal-oriented when they are exposed to competitive situations. In all probability, it seems to be an alluring answer at first, however, after further researches it gives the notions that it may create less productive results. If young people who are future leaders in various fields are immersed in competition too much, it will be difficult for them to follow the current trend in the global society, which is peaceful and emphasizes cooperation.

An additional contention that cause me to favor this side is that competition is what we have to avoid emphasizing for young people's happiness. There are a lot of evidence showing people are less happy in more competitive society. For example, Korea is the representative country where competition is underscored throughout the society, and the country takes the lowest ranking of how people are happy in a country despite their high GDP. Even though there are some opinions that suggest instilling in young people a sense of competition can increase profit of many fields, it does not ensure that people in that society can be satisfied with their life.

In summary, I strongly hold the opinion that by emphasizing cooperation, our society have to educate young people for leadership in future society.