The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food-distribution company with food-storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently we signed a contract with The Fly-Away Pest-Control Company to provide pest-control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest-Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff Company for all our pest-control services."

Vice president of the food distribution company discredited the recently replaced pest control services because the warehouse suffered from the pest damage with a higher amount of loss. Therefore, the vice president suggested returning to the choice of original pest control services for storage warehouses. However, vice president can not justify his points as he missed serveral factors contributing to the seemingly comparatively serever loss in Wintervale.

The food distribution company switched to Fly-Away Pest Control Company just recently, and claimed the damage in Wintervale warehouse was discovered about a month ago. It is possible that Fly-Away Pest Control has not started working on the pest control because any company that take over a new business needs to design a plan before setoff. Even if Fly-Away Pest Control has started by the time the damage was found, the severe pest issue was not likely to develop so fast in merely a month. The pest problem must has been overlooked when the Buzzoff Pest Control Company was still in charge of the warehouse.

Moreover, the memo compared the loss in Wintervale with the damage in Wintervale, and concluded the warehouse handled by the Buzzoff Pest Control suffered less damage. Although 10000 was indeed less than the damage of 20000 worth of food, the statement did not provide any information of the value of food stored in each warehouse, nor did it reveal the size, the structure, the extent of weariness of each warehouse. If the amount of food stored in Winterhouse was less than in Palm city but most of the storage was contaminated by the pest, while only a small part of food was damaged in Palm city, how could the vice prisident insist on more effective work from the Buzzoff Pest Control? And considering the structure of the warehouse, it is possible that the warehouse in Palm city is wooden structure which has been dampened due to years of moisture. Then it is unfair to require the same quality of pest control given the equal expenditure.

It is also to hasty to conclude Buzzoff would give the food distribution company the most cost-effective