Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommended increasing the budget to adverse the movie produced by the company. And he supported his argument by presenting a increase in the positive reviews while the movie experienced a decrease number of audience. The statement may seen to be reasonable at the first glance, but it fails to be wholly persuasive. The argument has several logical flaws and the conclusion is based on untenable assumptions.

First of all, the advertising director simply assumes the decrease number of audiences is due to the lack of advertisement. The assumption itself is a questionable stand as it assumes people did not choose to see the movie because they have no source to know about the information of the movie. However, it ignores the possibility that those people did not found the movie interesting after they saw the preview or the advertisement posters.

Moreover, the director overlooked the probable reason behind the decrease number of audiences. If the audience found a series of movie from a certain company fascinating, he would more than likely to watch the movie from the same company next time he go to the cinema. On the contrary, the decrease in audiences reflected the disappointment among the public. Since people dubious about the ability of the company to produce attractive movie has been driven away, it is not surprising that only people who spoke highly of the movie still watch the movie from the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

Even if we are to ignore those logical gaps above, there is another problem involved in the argument. The director hastily to advocate more allocation of budget to advertising without any substantial data given. How was the amount of bugdet last year compared to the amount in the past few year? If it Had the author presented and compared the coverage of advertisement in the past few years, he could have strengthen his point that the advertisement is the main contributing factor to the unpopularity among the public.

To sum up, the suggestion is markedly unconvinsing and the arthor fails to provide credible evidence to support his conclusion.