The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes the given argument by assuming the population count of both the headquarters are same, the total amount of working hours for the two new offices and quality of employees working at these two offices. The author neglects to consider these factors and thus recommends using Zeta rather than iAlpha. The author's recommendation is solely based on the fact of 30 percent less energy consumption at Zeta that at Alpha.

The author must state the precise difference in the population count working at Alpha and Zeta headquarters. This would impact the conclusion if there is a significantly uneven working population at the two new build offices. It might be possible that headquarters at Zeta uses only first two floors out of the total count and thus giving less electricity consumption as compared to Alpha which uses all the floors. Additionally, the number of working hours at both the headquarters must remain the same. Otherwise, it will be the major cause for the difference in energy consumption. The author must find out these statistics also.

The locality at which the two headquarters are present also matters. The electricity board present at these localities can be different and they charge different amount of charges per unit of electricity. Thus resulting in such a difference. It is possible that electricity provider in the region where Alpha is located give electricity at a costlier rate that the provider in Zeta region. It is also possible that headquarters at Zeta uses solar energy to source some amount of electricity which will lead to lesser energy consumption costs. Therefore, the author must know the source/provider of electricity at both the headquarters.

The skills of employees working at both the headquarters must also be mentioned. It will impact the maintenance costs of the two headquarters. If employees working at Zeta are more sophisticated and careful, the unnecessary extra maintenance costs which might be there at Alpha headquarters will be ceased at Zeta.

Thus, the author concludes by considering ideal cases for various other factors which might affect the conclusion. The author must state the above statistics to strengthen the argument to derive to the conclusion.