The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company."Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different constructio

Any business at the end of the day seeks to gain profits, be it in terms of overall profit gain (monetary), best market share & market growth of their products and services. Taking these aspects into consideration, I believe that it is beneficial for the company to give its upcoming construction project not to Alpha but to Zeta.

First of all, the primary purpose of any profit-making organization is to maximize the outputs with minimum inputs. Taking into consideration the initial costs that are incurred by the company to set up a new building, Alpha has an upper hand when compared to its counterpart Zeta, as the total estimate filed by the former one is lesser than the latter one. But this alone cannot be taken into consideration for deciding the better one for the work. When post construction costs such as maintenance and other miscellaneous expenses taken into consideration Zeta performs much better than its counterpart. However, if the company is very keen on investing less on the initial construction costs, Alpha would be a better choice.

In addition to making profits, the company needs to keep in mind how environmental-friendly its resources are. When the net energy consumption per year is to be taken into account, Zeta is a clear winner, as it has buildings that have been designed to minimize energy consumption rate despite both the construction companies having the same floor plans. Energy consumption is one of the important topics that should be present in any checklist while building any infrastructure, as the resources are limited in quantity thus need to be used judiciously.

And finally, the tenure of the workforce is also an equally important issue that needs to be dealt with while giving a contract to a particular company. As this can delay the host organization’s working and indirectly effect the turnover of the host organization. As it is mentioned in the problem statement and I quote “Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover.” Zeta, having a stable workforce with a little employee turnover will be able to complete the construction of the building in the specified time-frame, thus being a better option to choose between the two.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I’m of the opinion that it is beneficial for company to give the new building construction project to Zeta despite Alpha having lower initial construction costs.