“Students should fund their education with part-time work that they do while they study.”

Being able to fund one’s own education is a very big thing in a young adult’s life. But there are several factors that are to be taken into consideration. For example, the total cost of attendance of the university, the possibility of him/her securing a decent paying job in order to pay off their tuition and other expenses etc.

Generally speaking, I believe that it is better for parents to fund the education of their children rather than the latter ones themselves, particularly if they are studying at universities that have a higher overall cost of attendance.

First of all, it’s important to consider the impact on academics. Because of the exorbitant tuition fees the universities demand, young adult who needs to finance his/her education will have to work outside in some firm taking out some part of his/her time in the day out of academics. Generally, this turns into a burden for the student finding it difficult to strike a balance between work and studies. This would eventually lead to downfall in their grades. Nevertheless, there are examples of many students who have been able to finance their education by work off part time and simultaneously were able to secure decent grades at their schools.

In addition to the importance of academics, it might affect the young adult’s health. The students might not be able to earn enough to eat healthy, which in turn has a detrimental effect on their health. This increases the expenditure towards medication and other miscellaneous expenses. However, I have seen people who were able to take good care of their health, despite working part time. One such example, a friend of mine who used to cook food at his dorm because of his previous experience in cooking that he had. This helped him cut down his expenses by a great amount when it came to spending money at restaurants etc.

Finally, psychological condition of the young adult might also get affected. Neither able to make enough money to pay off the house rent, tuition fees and other basic necessities, nor able to secure good grades at school and finally dropping out of school has become a very common thing these days. This might put the young adult into a psychological turmoil and might lead to depression. I would like to point out that, the universities generally provide the students with a personal academic advisor who can be of great help when a student is facing difficulties with his/her grades as they could suggest tips and tricks to score better, appoint a one-to-one mentoring if necessary. Universities even have student support teams that counsel students facing depression or any other psychological conditions.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I’m of the opinion that in most of the cases its actually more beneficial for parents to finance the education of their children.