The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo written by the vice president of the company, they concluded that their company should recommend the Zeta company rather than the Alpha company for their new building project, even though Alpha promises a lower price. The VP came to this conclusion based on the fact that while Zeta’s cost initially was more expensive, the cost for maintenance in the last year and the energy consumption of Zetas building were both lower than that of Alphas building. However, to verify the VPs conclusion three questions need to be answered.

First of all, are the energy consumptions of the two buildings comparable? In other words, should the energy consumption of the Alpha building correlate to the Zeta? Perhaps Alphas building was located in a climate that is extremely hot, thus requiring more energy to keep the buildings climate cool for the employees. A building in the dessert would cost more to keep cool than a building in a more temperate climate. Another possibility is that the Alpha building has more employees in it. While both building were built with the same plans, if Alphas building contains more employees not only would energy need to be expended for them to do their work but again could add to the cost of cooling and/or heating the building. If either of these two cases are true it would significantly weaken the VPs recommendation.

Second, a question that needs to be answered is, are the maintenance costs of the buildings for the past ten years comparable? While the VP states that in the past year Zetas building had a lower maintenance fee he does not state what it was the previous nine years before. It is possibly that Alphas building had a significantly lower maintenance cost the previous nine years and it wasn’t until the tenth year that its expenses were raised. Another possibility is that the maintenance cost of Alphas building in year ten was due to circumstances outside of the companies control such as weather. If Alphas building is in a region where severe weather such as tornados or hurricanes are more common, that building runs the risk of having a higher maintenance fee outside of the builder’s control. If either of these scenarios is true, the recommendation by the VP is again significantly weakened.

Finally, a question that has to be answered is whether Zeta having low employee turnover is beneficial to the project? Perhaps the employees that currently work for Zeta are no longer the ones who built the first building and are significantly worse. This could lead to a poorly constructed building that costs more than originally estimated. Another possibility is that Alpha has a high turnover rate because they hold their employees to a higher standard. Perhaps Alpha fires employees who are under preforming and brings in employees who can do a better. If either were to be the case, it would significantly weaken the VPs recommendation.

The decision for the VP to recommend Zeta over Alpha has many flaws that prevent it from being the absolute choice. To better assert which company is best suited to build the new regional building more evidence would be needed in order to accurately support the claims that are made by the vice president.