The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large highly diversified company Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions The buildings were erected by two different

The president, in the argument, recommends to use Zeta for their new buildings project. The recommendation drawn in the argument based on the fact that the building constructed by Zeta has lower maintenance cost and lower energy cost than Alpha. However, to evaluate the recommendation drawn in the argument these two questions should be answered.

First of all, is the less maintenance cost surely due to the construction of Zeta? It is possible that the building constructed by Zeta, now, uses lower quality material for its maintenance. Perhaps, the building constructed by Zeta had lower workload than the building constructed by Alpha. If one of the above examples hold water, then the recommendation drawn in the argument will fall apart. So, the above question should be answered to evaluate the recommendation.

Secondly, yes, the Zeta has a stable workforce, but, is this workforce more stable compared to that of Alpha? Perhaps, Alpha has a better workforce than that of Zeta. If the above example is indeed true, then the recommendation formulated in the argument will crumble. So, these questions must be answered to evaluate the merit of the recommendation.

In conclusion, the recommendation suggests in the argument exhibits notable flaws due to its dependency on various assumptions. The president will have to answer the questions provided in the essay and also give more evidence to evaluate the recommendation.