The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

The vice president of the company suggest that the company should use Zeta for their new building project for various reasons. However, the president's assertion relies on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the president mentions that the overal maintenance cost are smaller in the building built by Zeta. However, to make this criteria reasonable, there must be other information about it. Since the two building is in different location, it is natural to have different maintenance cost. For example, the tax on possessing the building that Zeta has built, might be lower in that region compared to the building built by Alpha. Thus, the president examplifies further that the energy comsumptions are half of those region that the company Alpha has built. The vice president has an assumption that the company Zeta has built better building than Alpha. However, the vice president does not consider other circumstances. Maybe climate in the region where Zeta has built might be more moderate than the region where Alpha has built. This might lead to extra comsumption on energy.

Secondly, the vice president suggest that Zeta has stable workforce. However, this cannot be reasonable to select Zeta for the project. To make this suggestion reasonable, the vice president should imply additional comparison information such as the stability of workforce in Alpha. Perhaps, Alpha has superior on Zeta on other criteria except for the stability of the workforce. Without additional information given, this suggestion cannot substantiate the assertion above.

Finally, the vice president assumes that even though the cost of the building was higher in Zeta, other benefactors offset this downturn. This assumption, however, relies on weak substantiation. There must be more information about actual cost of the implied statement so that we can compare the benefits and losses acurately. Moreover, other aspects should be considered on this assertion. Just considering the aspects above does not efficiently persuade for the assertion.

In conclusion, the argument that the company should select Zeta on the company's new building project has weak reasoning. Since it fail to give logical explanation about it, the argument above cannot coroborrate the suggestion and is therefore requires extra information.