The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

“All students should be required to take the driver’s education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter claims to make a driving program mandatory in high school in order to reduce the number of accidents by teenage drivers. He justifies the claims with assumptions like an increased number of accidents ( involving teenage drivers ), parents being too busy to teach their children, and that they cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. However, the arguments put forth by the author are unpersuasive and illogical.

Firstly, the author states that, several accidents involving teenage drivers have taken place in the past two years. He posits the trend would continue in the present day as well. It might be possible that the increase in accidents was just an anomaly, and the accidents would rather decrease this year. Moreover, 'several' accidents do not necessarily mean 'most' or 'all'. Therefore, if any of these examples are true, then the author's assumptions fail to hold water.

Secondly, the author states that, parents are too busy to teach their children to drive. The author assumes that almost all parents in Centerville are too busy to give driving instructions, but he fails to quantify the number of parents in any sense. Maybe only some of the parents are busy to teach their teenagers and most of them can. Furthermore, what if either of the two parents is busy and not both the parents. Parents could teach their teenagers alternately without any problem. Therefore, the author's assumptions are frivolous.

Lastly, the author assumes that most or all of the parents are on a tight budget to afford to pay for driving instruction. It might be possible that only a few parents cannot afford to pay, and it might not apply to every parent. It might also happen that the driving schools provide instructions at a subsidised rate for a large group of teenagers, which would reduce the amount payable by every parent. If any of these scenarios prove to be true, then the author's assumptions would be significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the school should consider all the facts before implementing a driving course in school and making it mandatory. The author's argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the following assumptions. If he provides more pieces of evidence to discard these flawed assumptions then the argument would be strengthened and help evaluate the argument more effectively.