The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Stating the fewer on-the-job accidents of Panoply Industries, the author argues that Quiot Manufacturing should shorten each of its three work shifts by one hour to increase its productivity. Even though this claim seems plausible at first glance, some wrong assumptions lead me to question the validity of this argument.

First, the author believes that the number of on-the-job accidents last year could be representative. However, one year might be not enough period to analyze the exact trend of accidents at Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries. For example, the increase of on-the-job accidents of the last year could be an aberration in the long-term trend. To support his conclusion, the author has to give more long-term records of on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing. Additionally, if there were few accidents before last year at the two companies, the 30% of accidents might be negligible. For example, if there were only three accidents at Panoply Industries, just four cases of accidents at Quiot Manufacturing can mean 30% more accidents. But, in this case, 30% is an insignificant number. To bolster his argument, a more exact number of on-the-job accidents in Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries.

Second, the author assumes that Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries have the same working circumstance. To validate his assertion, he should provide more information about the working condition of the two companies such as the kind of product, the average age of employees, and their exact manufacturing process. If Quiot Manufacturing usually makes the more complicated product, there might be more accidents than Panoply Industries. Similarly, If their employee is much older than Panoply Industries or their working condition is more dangerous, it also could cause more accidents. However, we cannot find any information about these aspects in this article. It makes the author's argument weaken critically.

Third, the author assumes that a shorter time of work helps to reduce on-the-job accidents. However, there is no evidence that the hour of work shift can affect the accidents. For more specific, he quotes an expert's opinion that fatigue and sleep deprivation can cause many on-the-job accidents. But the relationships between fatigue and sleep shortage and the reduced time of work shift are unclear. For instance, if the employees use their time saved by shorter work shifts for their hobbies or social activities such as outdoor leisure or eating out and drinking with their friends, they would be more tired than before. In this case, the author's recommendation would be ineffective improving the company's productivity.

In conclusion, this memo has many flaws, a lack of specific data, and unpersuasive assumptions. To strengthen the author's argument, he should provide more precise information about long-term trends and the exact number of on-the-job accidents, working conditions of two companies, and the evidence that employee will spend their reduced working time for adequate rest.