The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the complain

In this argument, the author concludes that the coverage of weather and local news should be expanded to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues. To substantiate this conclusion, the author provides several pieces of evidence to support the argument. However, the line of reasoning is problematic due to some oversimplified assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously weaken the argument.

First, the argument depends on the assumption that increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news is responsible for the complaints received from viewers. Although coverage coincides with the complaints, it does not suffice to infer a cause-and-effect relationship between the two issues. It is possible that there are other factors contributing the complaints, such as the decreased quality of programs during that time. Without ruling out this possibility, the argument is not convincing.

Second, the author unwarrantedly assumes that weather and local news is unpopular among most viewers. However, the author just provides fact that most of the complaints is about weather and local news without giving the base number of complaints. It is possible that the number of complaints is too small to consider change the coverage if the base number of complaints is negligible. Therefore, the argument is questionable without taking this possibility into consideration.

Third, the groundless assumption is that increased time to national news causes the cancel of advertise contracts and there are no other factors responsible for the latter. There is no adequate evidence to confirm the causal relationship between national news and contracts, it is possible that the advertising company has been unaffordable to advertise during our late-night news program or the company has been satisfied with the effect of previous advertisement and loses the need for further advertisement. Without ruling out these possibilities, the argument is not reliable.

Forth, the author unwarrantedly assumes the causal relationship between expanding coverage of weather and local news and more viewers and advertising revenues. However, there is not any evidence to support this assumption. Therefore, the argument is unsubstantiate without providing more information about this issue.

To sum up, the questionable assumptions mentioned above would challenge the reliability of this argument.