The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of developersin the city of Monroe A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise Currently the nearest jazzclub is 65 miles away thu

In this argument, the author concludes that a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable. To substantiate the conclusion, the author provides several facts that support the line of reasoning. However, the line of reasoning is problematic and therefore the author needs to provide more evidence to support the argument.

First, the author has to provide evidence as to whether the local market is big enough for the jazz music club to make profit. Indeed, the proposed new jazz club in would have the local market all to itself because there is no local jazz music club currently, while it is possible that the local market is so small that even the full market share cannot support just one jazz music club to make profit. The possibility would be augmented given that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away currently, otherwise there would have been jazz music clubs in Monroe. Without taking this possibility into consideration, the argument is not convincing.

Second, another piece of evidence needed is as to whether the popularity of annual jazz festival last summer is a special case. It is possible that there are many tourists attending this festival last year, who just live in Monroe for a while and cannot make up a constant market for a local jazz music club. And the favor of the jazz festival does not mean the willing to patronize jazz music clubs, which needs further evidence to identify. Without ruling out these possibilities, the argument is not reliable.

Third, the author has to provide evidence as to whether several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe can represent the popularity among residents in Monroe. It is possible that musicians perform outside, and the highest-rated radio program is just because there are no substitute programs in that period. Therefore, jazz music club may be not popular in Monroe at all. In that case, the conclusion of the author would be groundless.

Forth, it is necessary to provide evidence as to whether the result of the nationwide study is applied appropriately to the situation in Monroe. It is possible that there are many differences in Monroe. For example, the development of economy in Monroe may be far less than the average national level, making residents there unaffordable to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. Moreover, even the result is applied equally to Monroe, it is questionable whether $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment is enough to make profit for clubs, which needs further evidence. Without ruling out these possibilities, the argument is not reasonable.

To sum up, the author fails to substantiate the conclusion because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend credible support to what the author maintains. To make the argument more convincing, the author needs to provide more evidence as mentioned above.