The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memorandum, the manager of KNOW radio station predicts that if KNOW radio station switches from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and increase profit of the KNOW radio station more than ever. The manager has reported evidences of decreasing number of rock-and-roll music listeners in the listening area, decreased sales of rock-and-roll music in the music stores and success of continuous news stations in neighboring cities. However, before deciding whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable, satisfactory answers must be provided to these following three specific questions.

First of all, has the number of listeners of rock-and-roll music in the listening area fallen significantly? The manager, without any evidence, assumes that the number of music listeners has decreased a lot. He has not provided any idea of the decreased number of listeners in the listening area. However, this may not be the case. It is quite likely that the number of music listeners has reduced to only 2 percent. It means if about 100 people used to hear the rock-and-roll music in the previous years, then over the fifty years the number has fallen to only 98. It is not a significant decrease to worry about. Moreover, if the number was reduced to 20 from 1000, then it would be a significant decline in the number of music listeners. The manager has failed to provide any evidence regarding this and so the argument is seriously flawed.

Secondly, are the sellers of the rock-and-roll music produced by KNOW radio station of the town reliable? The author prematurely assumes that the sellers of the music are not responsible for the decline in sales. In reality, this may not be the case. It is quite possible that the sellers at those music stores are convincing their customers to buy another type of music and they are apathetic to sell rock-and-roll music. The customers are being influenced by them and are avoiding buying rock-and-roll music presciently. The manager has failed to provide any evidence of this case and so the argument does not hold water.

Finally, will the 24-hour news attract the listeners living in the listening area of KNOW station? The manager, without any evidence, supposes that this news program will attract the listeners without facing any difficulties. However, this may not be true. It is very much possible that the news program will be very much tiresome and too much boring. The listeners will easily become bored hearing those all the time. If this is the case, then allowing the radio station to broadcast 24 hour news will not have the desired effect. The argument fails to address this and so is seriously flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may turn out to be invalid. If the manager is able to provide satisfactory answers to the above stated three questions and provide enough evidences for supporting those, then the argument can be evaluated properly and the prediction whether it is reasonable or not can be taken into consideration. Otherwise the argument will remain strongly flawed as it appears on surface.