Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean as archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea, which is a very deep and broad river and no Palean boats have been found. However, the argument is based on some unwarranted assumptions. These following three cases must be evaluated first before making such a conclusion.

First of all, it is important to determine whether ‘a’ Palean basket in Lithos is representative of all the Palean baskets. The author assumes that only one basket is enough to make the conclusion of the argument. However, only one basket is not a sufficient proof for the case that inhabitants of Lithos made that. If the inhabitants of Lithos could really made Palean baskets, then why only one basket would be found by the archaeologists? There must be abundance of Palean baskets. If the author can’t provide evidence for this case, then the argument will be seriously flawed.

Secondly, it is important to determine whether the inhabitants of Lithos, the ancient village, used boats to communicate with the prehistoric village of Palea. The author prematurely assumes that only Palean people used boats. However, this may not be the case. People from Lithos village can go to the village of Palea and bring that basket as a gift for the people of Lithos. If the author can’t provide evidence for this case, the argument will not hold water.

Last, but not least, it is important to evaluate whether the Palean people used water transports other than boats to cross the deep river. The author assumes that boat is the only medium to cross the river. However, this may not be the case. The Palean people can cross the river with the help of other type of transports to cross the river. If the author can’t provide evidence for this, the argument will be seriously flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it is based on some unstated assumptions which are unwarranted. If the author can provide evidence of the three stated cases above, then the conclusion can be considered for evaluation otherwise it will remain as seriously weakened.