The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter recommends, prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza will previous high levels of business in Central Plaza. The author provides support for the recommendation showing evidence of steadily declining number of shoppers in Central Plaza while the popularity of skateboarding has exalted dramatically and a huge increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. However, the argument is seriously flawed and these following three questions need to be answered first before deciding whether the recommendation will yield the predicted result.

First of all, has the number of skateboard users in the plaza increased due to increasing popularity of the skateboards? It is possible that regular customers are avoiding Central Plaza for other reasons like business quality. It is quite likely that quality of products in Central Plaza is deteriorating day by day. New customers who like skateboarding are gathering in Central Plaza and they are not sure about the quality of the products sold in Central Plaza and so they are not interested to buy things. If it is the case, then answer to the stated question will help to evaluate the recommendation.

Secondly, are only the skateboarders responsible for increased amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza? Perhaps, the skateboarders are not involved in such crimes. They are very good human beings and are not involved in any type of criminal activities. A portion of non skateboarders is responsible for the increasing crimes in this case most probably. If answer to this question is not answered, then the conclusion will be seriously flawed.

Last but not least, can only prohibiting skateboarding help to return previous high levels of business in Central Plaza? It is very possible that security system in the plaza has fallen down. It has grown very weak and as a result, the Plaza has become a good place for pick-pocketing and other kinds of thefts. As a result, customers are avoiding the Plaza as none want to lose their important belongings while they are in shopping. If answer to the question can’t be answered, then the argument will not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it has considered the three questions stated above. If the author can provide logical answers to these questions, then evaluation of the recommendation is possible otherwise the argument will remain seriously weakened.