Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Three years ago 100 lions and 100 western gazelles from Western Palean Wildlife Preserve were shifted to East Palean Preserve due to flooding. East Palean Preserve is home to the similar species that are found in western preserve just larger in number. It is also home to eastern gazelle that is a close relative of western gazelle. The only difference between the western and eastern preserves is the climate, the eastern preserve experiences slightly less rainfall. After three years in eastern preserve, it was analysed that the population of western gazelle is decreasing. Since rainfall cannot be a factor affecting this as the amount of rain is just slightly less than the western preserve but large number of predators can be a possibility of the elimination of western gazelles.

The elimination of a particular species depends on various factors and becomes very difficult to analyse the major one, the decrease in number of western gazelles in the Eastern Palean Wildlife preserve can be a consequence of the change in habitat and lifestyle of the animal. For example, according to world wildlife as the climatic conditions are changing so drastically in the world, making weather and seasons unpredictable during any period of the year, it becomes very difficult for an animal to be shifted to a new place and getting adopted to it. The western parts of the preserve was the original habitat of the gazelle, changing it’s habitat to a new place can affect their number. Eastern preserve experiencing slightly less rainfall can be a reason, as the adequate amount of rainfall that these animals are habitual of is not satisfied by the climatic conditions of the area, hence not getting the same amount of rainfall can lead to their population decrease.

Changing the habitat of anyone either it be human or animals does affect the mental health and immunity. An animal residing in a space where it has been since the birth, a place where even it’s ancestors spent all their life makes them adaptive to that specific situations and surroundings. When a human moves from one city to another they face a lot of difficulties to adapt to the people and happenings of that place, sometimes it even becomes difficult to cope up with all the daily needs as being not familiar with new shops and places, similarly it becomes difficult for animals to get adopted to new places, it even starts affecting their mental health making them sick and reducing their life span. Animals in new environments can miss their original habitat or home, this can even make them depressed hence not in a mood to eat adequate food resulting in weakness in the body. Therefore, a new habitat can affect animals mentally as well as physically resulting in reduction of life.

Hunting is an art, defined as one of the most important skills of an animal to survive in the jungle. It is the act in which animals kill the other one to feed their families. Like Humans when in their hometown know all the routes, houses, people, shops and attractions, similarly, for an animal when in it’s habitat knows all the places to hunt and even to hide from other predators, where to run and behind which bush to hide. Western gazelles being not familiar with places to hide and which direction to run makes them the perfect target of the old residents of Eastern preserve. Also, the number of lions are increased in the Eastern preserve as 100 more lions were shifted to the same preserve, lions being the king of the jungle it is an easy task for the crown holder to hunt these gazelles to get ample amount of flesh to fill their stomachs and feed the cubs.

Western gazelles moved to their new home that is Eastern preserve have many reasons of fall in their population like climatic conditions, unfamiliar environment, hunting and even slightly less amount of rainfall, but we cannot standardize one sole factor and it equally depends on every aspect.