The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that WWAC radio station is switching from rock music to the music that is liking of the retired population. The decreasing number of listeners despite of the population growth in the area has made this change. Author also adds that the radio station will broadcast news and talk shows to gain popularity among to the listeners of that area. This argument is made on assumptions of what kind of music is preferred by the different class of people.

First the author states that WWAC wants to change from its current format which is rock music. Not all the people like the single genre of music. Playing only the rock music all day can cause decrement in number of listeners. The Radio channel should be broadcasting all the types of popular music genre. It is not necessary that people’s age decides the preference of the music they listen to. This assumption is lacking detailed survey among the people of the area.

Second the author has not provided the clear number of people who migrated in the given area. Author also assumed that the most of the people are retired. In addition to that author claimed that the retired person do not like the rock music. As there is not a particular number is provided, it is difficult to reach to a conclusion that the decrease in the number of listeners is because of retired people ‘s taste. It is also possible that Retired persons have interest in rock music. By changing the genre of music the Increase in the number of listeners is not guaranteed.

Third the Author assumes that by adopting the news and talk show type the number of listener will increase. It has flaws such as, The popularity is determined on the basis of what survey and what are the number of people that surveyed and why it is popular. Talk shows and news all day can be annoying for listeners as listener tends to listen to music rather than news and talk show. Thus this claim of author also lacks vital information and hinges upon the possibility of the success of news and talk show.

This argument lacks some vital aspects to be considered while choosing the broadcast material and the genre of music. It is made upon assumptions. The conclusion of the argument is short sighted.