The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

From the given argument we can understand that profits for theatre are getting reduced.

The reason for decline of profits was mentioned in the argument.

In order to get more profits the owner decides to reduce operating hours at movies galore rather than increasing the ticket prices as movies galore is famous for low prices.one assumption we can make here is profits are low because of low ticket prices.Apart from that reducing the operating hours may lead decline of profits further more as people prefer to watch movies at different times.

Owner also took a decision to not stock the DVD released five years ago.From this decision also movie galore may head towards losses as people of different ages come and watch the movies.People in olden age especially prefer to watch old movies which they are fond of.

Therefore people might stop coming to movies galore gradually.

Apart from that people dropped complaints to management regarding new changes made by movies galore.So it’s clearly evident that not all are satisfied with rules of movies galore

This can lead to more losses

However,decisions made by owner of movies galore may be profitable if people are open to change by movies galore