The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

The above prompt gives an insight of the solution that the owner of Movies Galore rental stores wishes to implement in an attempt to reverse the decline in their profits.The owner wants to reverse the declining profits by reducing the operating expenses at the video rental stores which he assumes to be the primary source of their declining profits.In order to apply the solution to all the nine stores he assumes a lot of things based on the results it got by implementing in one of the stores.Let us consider the assumptions one by one.

Firstly, the owner assumes that the decline in the profit is maybe due to the operating expenses of the rental store and thus he reduced the expenses in the downtown rental store.However, it is possible that despite the reduction in the expenses the total profit may not have changed. It is not known by how much the operating expenses reduced and how it affected the net profit as closing the rental store early will result in less customers thus reducing the money flow.

Secondly, the owner relies on the results it got in one rental store. He assumes that all the rental stores will be equally affected by changing the timing . It is possible that the inflow of the customers may be different from 6 PM to 9 PM and all the nine rental stores may experience rush at this time which might boost the store' money flow. Also, it is possible that all the rental stores are located at different locations where the amount of people visiting might be different between 6 PM and 9PM.

Lastly, the owner assumes that people do not visit to watch movies older than 5 years. However, it is possible that people are mostly busy in their day to day life that they do not get sufficient time to watch movies in the theatre and hence,they might prefer to watch these movies in their own free time .Also, it is possible that many people wish to watch their movies repeatedly which are not available in the theatre and hence, they visit video rental stores.The owner mentions about the special bargains its store offers, hence, it is possible that people would want to visit time and again and watch their favorite movies.If the movies are not available then it would create a negative impression on the customer and it is possible that he would not visit again.

Hence , the assumptions that owner makes do not seem valid and furhter details about all the stores and evidence is required to determine the reason for declining profits.