Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Generally, various corporations are developed with the view of impacting the society and the environment in which

it operates in a positive way or in a way the society and environment benifits.The above prompt states about the

beliefs of the people who are in favor as well as not in favor of the generalised statement.The corporations are

either built by the government of a particular country/state or by some individul or group of individuals for the

welfare of its people and the environment.However, despite the best intentions, some corporations are created only

with the aim of making money and no interest in promoting people's welfare. Such corporations are only concerned with the

profit it makes and does not use for the betterment of the sociey or the environment. Lets consider both types of corporations for broad understanding.

Corporations are available in almost every field such as technology,finance,etc and each of these corporations have their own role in promoting the wellbeing of society as well as environment but at the same time making profits for improving its efficacy.For example, let us consider the Aerospace company SpaceX which is making a considerable difference in space flight with the help of reusable rockets. The SpaceX corporation also aims at safe space travel and making space flight accessible to almost anyone thus creating a positive impact on the society and the environment. However, this does not mean that the corporation should not make money out of its ventures. The CEO of SpaceX ,Elon Musk , once said that SpaceX should make money otherwise it could not make the advancements it is making.

Also, there are certain corporations for example an NGO whose sole aim is to help the society or in a way protect the environment in general.The NGO's funds are primarily used for the welfare of the people or to alleviate the problems they are facing. For example,YUV Can is an NGO that helps people having cancer by paying for the expenses of their treatment .

In a simialr way there are corporations whose sole purpose is to reduce global warming, reduce pollution and hereby making the environment better.

On the other hand, there are corporations either private or government whose only purpose is to make money and do nothing or do anything scarcely perceptible for the wellbeing of the society.For example, the muncipal corporation, whose duty is to ensure cleanliness,check whether the roads are properly constructed , see to it that the public has no problems. Despite, the public paying taxes there is no significant response from the corporation and they seem to operate as usual, only concrned with the money its making and nonchalant towards the wellbeing of society and environment.

It is not possible to strongly agree on either of the view as both seem correct in their own way. People believe what they have seen or experienced or even heard . However, it is a general statement being made and nothing in particular is true about a particular corporation.