The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore states that all ten of the video rental stores should decrease its operating expenses and reduce its stock in order to maximize the profits generated by these stores. The owner bases his assumption on the fact that one of the Movies Galore stores decreased its operating expenses and reduced its stock, and such changes can be implemented on a larger scale. However, before the author’s proposition is accepted, three major questions need to be answered.

Firstly, is the store at downtown Marston even comparable to all the other Movies Galore stores? For instance, it is highly likely that the people in downtown Marston enjoyed renting recent movies; but those in another town may have a taste for retro classics. By not catering to their varied tastes, Movies Galore is likely to end up losing even more customers. Moreover, it is likely that inhabitants of another town only rent movies after 8 PM, and the closing of the store by 6 PM would negatively impact the remaining profits. Hence, unless there exists a definite answer that the demographics of downtown Marston are comparable with the locations of all other Movies Galore stores, it is not cogent to rely on the Marston model of increasing profits.

Secondly, did the decrease in operating expenses and reducing stock lead to any improvements in the profits? Perhaps the early shutting down of the stores reduced the number of customers, and thus the store ended up earning even lesser than before. It is also possible that eliminating movies that released more than five years ago could alienate a large scale of the population, especially those who were veteran customers of the store and used to hunt for older movies. Thus, if either of these two scenarios is true, then the store at downtown Marston would have ended up further reducing its profits, and would not be an ideal prototype of what measures should be implemented at other outlets.

Thirdly, did the changes in the quantity of stock and the early closures of the store not have any impact on its reputation for offering great movies at low prices? The author states that these measures reduced costs, however, he doesn’t mention the fact that a limited supply of movies and curtailing the time of operation can have a detrimental effect on the store’s overall reputation. For example, people may find another store with more options and longer hours, which would then become more reputed than Movies Galore. It is also possible that the ‘recent’ movies that the store keeps might not be ‘great’, which would further deplete its already precarious reputation. In such a case, the author needs to give concrete evidence that states how and why the reputation of the store would not be affected if they implement the practices that took place at downtown Marston.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands right now is extremely unconvicing since it relies on a number of unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide more conclusive evidence to substantiate his claims, perhaps in the form of a detailed research study of all ten stores. Only then can the suggestion be evaluated properly.