Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt here discusses how opening a health store, Nature’s Way, in Plainsville is a great idea because residents of the town follow a healthy lifestyle. The author’s suggestion is based on the frequent sales of exercise equipment, the high attendance in fitness classes and the introduction of the Fitness-for-Life Programme for school children in Plainsville. However, the author has made three major unwarranted assumptions that significantly weaken his argument, and might even render it completely false.

Firstly, the author presumes that there are no other health stores in Plainsville. Since it has been highlighted that the town is particularly health-conscious, it is quite natural to presume that the residents already have a go-to place for purchasing health-related products. In such a scenario, it is unlikely that another health store would serve any purpose here. It is wise to presume that most people would stick to the store they are already familiar with, instead of venturing out to Nature’s Way for trying out something new. Even if they do start shopping there, it would, at best, divide the population between two stores, lowering sales in each but never really boosting any particular business. Thus, if even one other health food and products store is present in Plainsville, then the introduction of the Nature’s Way franchise would not have the response that the argument anticipates.

Second of all, just because the residents of Plainsville enjoy exercising, does not mean they will also enjoy healthy food. Perhaps a lot of these individuals work so hard on their fitness so that they can eat to their heart’s content, without caring about how many calories they put on their plates. It is also likely that the town is flooded with highly-popular dessert shops, because residents enjoy a hot chocolate doughnut as much as they enjoy sweating it out at an aerobics lesson. In such a scenario, a health food shop would find no takers, and the Nature’s Way wouldn’t be able to make as much profit as it expected. Thus, if either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s argument doesn’t hold much water.

Thirdly, enrolling schoolchildren in a mandatory fitness for life programme doesn’t ensure that they will grow up to be healthy citizens, let alone ones that would be willing to spend their hard-earned money at a health food store. It is possible that the constant pressure of “working out” may make them develop severe body issues, and alienate them from exercise. Such people are unlikely to choose healthy options when they grow up, and are very less likely to be interested in products that help them in improving their health. Even if they somehow manage to escape the crippling body dysmorphia that accompanies those who grow up in a “health-obsessed” environment, it is still unlikely that they would want external equipment to help with their fitness. Perhaps they have learnt enough at school and don’t wish to spend any extra money on equipment that they already have lying around from their years in school. Thus, no matter how they feel about the fitness-for-life programme, most kids would not feel the need to purchase anything from a store that sells healthy food and products. If true, these instances would further weaken the author’s argument that these schoolchildren are “potential customers” for Nature’s Way.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands right now, is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions that render it extremely unconvincing, if not outright specious. More evidence, perhaps in the form of systematic research studies about the town of Plainsville, can help in evaluating the argument in a better way.