The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00PM rather than 9:00PM and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Movies Galore utilizes sound logic as they search for new ways to increase profit by recognizing their strengths in the movie market and acknowledging successful tactics within their own stores, but fails to acknowledge their diverse store locations serve different populations and cannot all be treated the same. Choosing not to increase rental prices seems like a logical move due to their reputation. Other avenues of reigniting profits will need to be explored. To understand if Marston store adaptations can be successfully applied to all other 9 stores, a few questions need to be answered concerning the customers, which would ultimately effect sales and rush hours.

The varying locations of Movie Galore’s ten video rental stores mean ten disparate pools of customers. The placement of a store will attract assorted individuals and this aspect should not be overlooked when assessing the efficacy of changing store hours and cutting movies from the past 5 years to increase profit. The Marston store could be serving an older population who do not care to shop later 6 pm and use the store to catch recent movies they can watch in the comfort of their home. If the other nine locations serve a community that prefers to rent movies at a later time or loves rental stores for offering a larger spectrum of movies than solely the most recently released movies that can be found online, then applying the Marston’s store tactics would not have the desired affect. Understanding the different demands from each location could only benefit Movies Galore to experience a burgeoning in profits.

Before discarding all videos released more than five years ago, knowing the statistics of popular video rentals at each store location would either corroborate or refute the potential success of this idea. Although the Marston store experienced success with removing less recent movies from their collection, the remaining stores are not secured the same results. The best way to predict if a similar outcome would be rewarded is to look at the history of sales for each store. Depending on the results of this research, Movies Galore’s proposed course of action could be potentially either successful or ill-fated.

Learning the busiest store times for each location could also be telling of whether or not cutting closing time to 6 pm would be successful. Similar to the range of movie rentals possibly varying depending on location, customers’ shopping time could differ as well. Assuming every store has the same rush hours could be deleterious to the company. Collecting greater data on each store’s most populated time of shoppers will allow Movie Galore to more successfully predict which tactics would be most successful for all locations and not simply the Marston location.

Before any action is taken by Movie Galore more extensive research should be done. Using information from one of ten stores is hoping the 10% can be applied to the remaining 90% which statistically leaves an excessive margin of error. The Marston store is not the majority but accumulating more information on the types of customers and their habits could help Movie Galore know what changes should be made to increase profit.