“SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The reasoning following the claim that SuperCorp headquarter’s changed location to Corporateville being the best decision is riddled with presumptuous evidence. Faulty logic pervades the arguments which neglects to disclose crucial information and consider potentially revelatory aspects of location change for a business. Before SuperCorp’s claim can be accurately assessed as valid or not, information concerning homeowners move to Corporateville and the employee survey is needed, greater evidence is needed for certain assumptions such as lower taxes makes a certain area more safe, and lastly, consideration of other effects of moving headquarters.

SuperCorp is quick to connect the movement of homeowners into Corporateville as a sign of superior location. A rise in homeowners in one location, without further information, does not necessarily determine a place superior than others. There is no disclosure of these homeowners having any opinion on their preference of Corporateville over any other place to live. There is a possibility the new homeowners had a limited choice of where to settle. Middlesburg could potentially be superior, but more expensive or overcrowded. Corporateville could possibly serve a certain population of people better than Middlesburg, but if SuperCorp is not compiled or serving the population of Corporateville then the characteristics of Corporateville would not benefit SuperCorp where it might benefit the new homeowners. Equally, those moving into Corporateville could be relocating because it is a superior location, but without the evidence of why new homeowners are settling in Corporateville, SuperCorp cannot logically make this claim.

Much like argument that Corporateville is superior, the claims made based off of the employee survey fail to divulge pivotal information. The argument states employees prefer not to live in an urban area which Middlesburg is, but there is uncertainty to the options offered in the survey. Did the survey ask if the employees preferred to live on the beach or an urban area? The answer pitting the employees against urban locations could be irrelevant to the argument. Without such contextual information, the assessment of the validity of this argument is impossible. The best question to ask the employees would be “Where would you prefer to live: Corporateville or Middlesburg?” Yet, even with this question narrowing to the specifics relevant to the argument that Corporateville is better, SuperCorp is assuming the preference of where the employees would prefer to live is relevant to the relocation of headquarters. Making the connection of why this information would be helpful in determining the quality of the decision would strengthen SuperCorp’s argument.

The assumptions meant to bolster SuperCorp’s argument do not stop with the employee survey. SuperCorp argues lower taxes means greater safety without explaining the connection between the two variables. Examples of this being a positive correlation would benefit SuperCorp’s argument. Furthermore, SuperCorp supplies a dearth supply of the multifaceted effects of moving the headquarters. There is no discussion of the effects on business, sales, and the fiscal costs. The argument assumes these effects are all-worthwhile without addressing why.

The claim of a relocation of SuperCorp’s headquarters feels bold and audacious because of a scarce supply of evidence. Further development of certain arguments could either bolster or deteriorate SuperCorp’s argument, but without greater evidence, the claim remains weak.