The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teachers are some of the most crucial influencers in children’s lives. A teacher can shape an individual’s learning style, interests, foundational understanding, and character. School is beyond an education of certain subjects, but learning center for social skills, personal development, and practical life skills. The module of solely praising positive actions and neglecting negative ones could produce detrimental characteristics and create a tolerance for injurious treatment towards oneself or others. Implementing a teaching style of constructive criticism and balanced encouragement is ideal for productive learning and cultivating students to be society-enriching agents.

Social media, technology, and a heightened sense of youth idealization has created a culture of sheltering and overpraising of children today. Children learn how to take selfies on phones before they can read. Playing outside and manual labor for chores is less common with the rise of computer games and advanced technology. In a time where society encourages self-love and lower demand of responsibility from children, children grow-up with the dangers of increased narcissism, entitlement, and fragility. If children are only praised in the classroom, these traits will only continue to be fed.

Recognition of positive actions is not a negative course of action, but it needs to be done in moderation and in balance with constructive criticism. Students need to be able to identify when they act in positive ways, so they do not accumulate perfectionist complexes, believing any work they complete as never good enough. Recognition for hard-work, skillful application, intelligence, kindness, teamwork, and responsibility should be commended with the hope of a proliferation of such acts. Acknowledgement of good actions is necessary for a maintenance of such actions and further growth of other good actions, but if only praised, children will never know how to deal with rejection, mistakes, failures, or even, helpful commentary. Fragility and a sense of entitlement is maintained when someone never learns how to handle mistakes healthily. To healthily recognize a failure or mistake, one should process the action to learn from it, forgive, and move-on. Without an acknowledgement of a negative action such a process can never commence.

Without any recognition of negative actions, many children could also grow to assume bad behaviors as acceptable. Though bad behaviors would not be reprehended, they could be seen as neutral forces and not necessarily harmful. Teachers have opportunities to deal with negative actions with grace and instruction. Failure to address baneful acts are missed opportunities to formulate an understanding of why certain negative actions are not beneficial to anyone. Neglecting behaviors of bullying, sexual harassment, cheating, self-deprecation, laziness, or disbelief in oneself leaves these seemingly small behaviors to only fester and grow into habits that could make children into habitually harmful and unhealthy adults.

Constructive criticism coupled with a healthy douse of praise for every child is the prime formula for teaching. Learning habits and interactions that are healthy set-up a child for success academically and socially. A child will learn how to discern positive actions and negative actions only through a teacher’s guidance and recognition of both.