It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cultural traditions are major elements that represent a nation and the behavior of its citizens. And, there is no such country which lacks any cultural traits. However, I strongly disagree with the prompt that the cities are the sole producer or preserver of the cultural traditions of a nation rather I believe that any particular place is not the main or most important place for generating culture and tradition, but it is the people and their practice of such tradition that is responsible for a prolonged cultural trait.

Admittedly, because of globalization and rapid industrialization, urbanization is now at its best speed. Therefore, most the countries are now accommodating a number of cities that fuels their development, and for better fortune, more and more people are now coming to cities and towns. As a result, the portion of the village or rural population is declining at great speed. However, that does not indicate that the cities are the powerhouse of the culture of a nation. Because culture is not something that can be made within a short time, rather its needs, sometimes, more than hundreds of years to shape certain traditions and norms for a particular nation. Therefore, it would not be wise to judge the culture of a nation by only observing the city population for two reasons.

First of all, the residents of the cities are there for a short time, compared to the time required to generate a certain culture. Moreover, virtually there are no boundaries among the nations because of the internet, mobile phones, televisions etc. As a result of that, cultures are now merging, and the people of the city are more vulnerable to foreign cultures as they are the primary consumer of the benefits of globalization. Hence, it is very likely that the practice they are doing is not native to that nation, instead, it might be foreign. Therefore, they are actually mimicking foreign culture rather than generating a new one.

Secondly, as people move to the cities they are going to enjoy certain amenities and use products that are not representative of their own culture. For example, in Bangladesh, the indigenous dress or cloth for men and women are Panjabi and Sharee respectively. When they move to cities, they usually start to wear pants, shirts etc., which are actually very different from their local dresses. And, if more and more people are going to do the same, and people from the village also started to follow the city residents, which is now evident, the traditions of local dresses will demise. Therefore, it is necessary to practice the culture.

Finally, it can be said that neither the village nor the city is primarily responsible for creating or preserving cultural traditions, rather it is the use of indigenous goods or practice of certain social norms by the people that are responsible for generating and preserving the cultural traits.