The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommendation of building one of their new stores in Plainsville is based on a questionable assumption that Plainsville’s residents are concerned with health lifestyle. The prediction that this store will be profitable and they will anticipate new costumers due to the program Fitness for Life is not entirely logically cogent, because it is based on dubious inferences which require more information to prove they are valid and reliable.

A strong evidence is necessary to prove that Plainville residents are highly concerned with health maintenance. Which can be done through a well elaborated research into a wide sample including all ages range and the residents health behavior. Moreover, the report of local merchants stating that sells of running shoes and exercise equipment are always high is not enough to predict that Health Naturally store will be profitable. The high level of running shoes and exercises equipment could be due to the local stores affordable prices or maybe Plainsville has a local fabric of this kind of shoes.

It is stated that the local health club, that almost closed five years ago, has its weight-training and aerobics classes full. But this could be due to a high interest of obese population trying to lose weight, and this does not mean that because they do exercises they will eat health foods and consume other health related products. All these questionable evidences, like high sell of exercise products and high frequented aerobic classes, could be part of a local health program, in other words a Plainville’s government effort to reduce the weigh of its obese population.

The program Fitness for Life could be another evidence for the government effort to induce its residents to engage into a healthier lifestyle, since this program goal is emphasize regular exercise at early age. The store cannot be sure that will anticipate a new generation of costumers based only on this program.

Therefore, based on all these questions and related weakness of the argument, the prediction that Health Naturally store will be profitable in Plainsville is not logically cogent.