Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is known that scientific research and technology development plays a crucial role at the overall development of a nation. Keeping updated and competitive into a world that is in constant evolution is extremely important. I partially agree with the given statement, since I agree that governments should place few restrictions on scientific research but I cannot agree that no restrictions should be placed by them. This is because a lot of moral and ethical issues are related to the field of research and it is necessary to establish limits that do not offend overall ethical and moral values.

I believe that the government should apply few restrictions on scientific development in order to maintain an excellent standard of ethical values. In this case few restrictions mean restrictions that preserve life and ethics. Therefore, a nation should have its own rules and legislations to limit the scope and samples of research in order to preserve animal’s lives, people’s health and wellbeing, besides maintaining ethical values. For instance, I agree that a government should forbid research developments that test their products on animals or fetuses.

Furthermore, the fact that a government just applies few restrictions can be advantageous because it limits the political interference into scientific development. For example, if an authoritarian or dictatorial politician seized power in my country, it is expected that this government would enhance the financial aid and the development of research about weapons and related war technologies. Moreover, this government probably would diminish the investments or restrict research development about communication, food improvement, health and other fields related to people’s welfare. Therefore, in this case it is important that the government has limited influence on scientific development.

On the other hand, if no restrictions are performed, it could lead to nefarious consequences. For instance, industries and companies would feel free to develop research on their products without any ethical limit. This could be very dangerous to people’s health and world safety. Besides, it can hurt a lot of moral and ethical values.

To sum up, I partially agree with the given statement since some restrictions should be placed on scientific development. At the same time, performing no restrictions could be disadvantageous and dangerous.