The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that the Rialto Movie Theater pass through a renovation in order to become modern and more attractive like Apex Theater. Based on this recommendation the author predicts that if the Rialto movie Theater do this renovation it will continue working and making profit despite of the decreasing pool of moviegoers. Both recommendation and prediction are not entirely logically cogent, because are based on dubious inferences and questionable assumptions, which require more information to prove they are valid and reliable.

We would ask why the manager wants to renew this historical building. Maybe this is a great differential that could lead people to prefer going to the Rialto Movie Theater rather them other new one. Since it has five decades, it has historical, cultural and probably sentimental values for the moviegoers that should be explored by its managers. Furthermore, it is not stated that the new and modern Apex Theater has great profit and pool of moviegoers. Therefore, how can we be sure that doing this renovation the increase in pool of moviegoers is granted?

Moreover, it is stated that in a recent survey great percentage of respondents reported that the high values of new released movies impair them to go to the movies more than five times per year. However, we would ask some details about this survey. Was it done into moviegoers? What was the sample of the survey? What was the age average of the respondents? All this information could change the inference done so it is not reliable. Furthermore, it does not mean that the pool of moviegoers is decreasing, since we do not know if the sample survey was just moviegoers.

The prediction that the renovation will grant the pool of moviegoers is unsound. How can the manager be sure of that? Maybe the better solution is to maintain affordable prices in order to guarantee a good and faithful pool of people. Did the fact of being modern and completely renewed call people to go to Rialto Movie Theater? Maybe preserve the historical and cultural aspects of this building is the better solution in order to increase the movement and profit, avoiding that this place close its doors.

To sum up, based on all these questions the recommendation and the prediction are not cogent. These presented questions should be answered to prove that inferences and assumptions done by the manager are valid.