The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Though the advantages of attending this school are clearly asserted, the information that would further bolster their argument is noticeably omitted. There are several examples that the school provides but does not offer enough detail to effectively convince a potential customer to admit their children.

It is clear that there is a explicit four-prong attempt at persuasion, with the school covering all potential concerns a prospective parent would have. However, they do not go into detail. They claim that they teach “nearly” all musical instruments. This could read as a disadvantage. They do not expand on which instruments they teach. The kind and type of instruments that a music school teaches is an intrinsic part of an institution such as this.

Later in the paragraph, school again does not provide vital information that could help identify the prestige of the school. Although the school shows that they have a legacy of producing professional musicians, they failed to provide the names any of them. This omission would be disadvantageous as recognition of those names may further prove the effectiveness of the school. Without examples, parents may assume the school is making empty claims. They run into this problem earlier, as well, with their claim that the faculty includes many distinguished musicians. The school would achieve greater customer recognition if they advertised their results, in this case, their graduates' prestige and fame.

Additionally, by stating that there is no audition for the school, parents may assume that this school has lower standards than a school that requires an audition. There is some dissonance between the claim that the school should be parents “first choice” and the claim that they do not require an audition. Merit based institutions are generally held in higher regard than non-Merit based institutions, potentially discouraging parents.

This argument is in need of further details and proof of its legacy, such as the names of successful graduates, and the amount of time it has been running. With these additions, it could persuade parents to send their children specifically to this institution.