The following appeared in a newsletter to Canbury’s residents from the president of

Plexma Motors.

“I am pleased to announce that Plexma’s new manufacturing site is on schedule to open

next year. In addition to our regular line of cars, Plexma has also begun designing and

testing a line of automated self-driving vehicles. In a recent survey conducted by the

Canbury Gazette, 60 percent of residents reported that they would purchase a Plexma selfdriving

vehicle in the future if they were confident in the vehicles’ safety. We are happy to

report that last summer, we tested our new line of self-driving vehicles in downtown

Canbury with great success. Not only did our five tested vehicles remain accident-free for

two months during testing, but in a survey conducted after testing, 90 percent of

Canbury’s residents reported that when they were downtown and our vehicles were in

operation they felt very safe. Because steady demand for our self-driving vehicles will

create new jobs and thereby greatly benefit Canbury’s economy as a whole, I recommend

that you vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in

Canbury when our new site opens.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate

the recommendation.

The author of the above passage recommends that Cadbury's residents should vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling self-driving cars in Canbury. However, the argument is unpersuasive to allow stated argument, because it is based on several questionable assumptions. The following essay will discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on the passage are reasonable.

First of all the author assumes that the cited recent survey is reliable, however, this may not be the case. The survey shows only partial information about the survey participants. The survey said 60percent of residents will likely to buy a car in the near future. However, without the whole number of the participants, ration only is not a reliable statistic. If the population of the survey is not large enough, 60% of the positive answer is not enough to support the author's argument. Moreover, if the residents participate in the survey are not the people from Canbury, this results could not represent the opinion of Canbury residents. Also, the expression 'in the future' is a vague expression that needs more accurate definition. 'in the future' could be tomorrow or 3years later, especially in case of purchasing expensive products such as a self-driving car. For this reason, the writer should not readily conclude that the survey report is reliable without further questions asking the descriptive information regarding participants, and more detailed date of the 'future'.

Second, the author argues that their vehicles are safe, based on a last summer experiment reports. However, the information suggested in the above passage may also be flawed. In the passage, the experiment done last summer had a great success. Even the definition of great success itself is vague, but also the detailed information are groundless too. Tested vehicles are only 5, and surely, this is not enough number to evaluate the safety of a normal vehicle. Considering that this car is new type of car, more than 30 cars need to be tested. Also, 2 months of driving is not enough to draw a general trend of the vehicle's driving safety. To figure out whether this car is really safe or not further driving test would be needed. And, like I mentioned above paragraph, the whole population of the Canbury residents and the population of the participants need to be asked too, to find out this report really represent the major population of Canbury town. Therefore, in order to judge if the experiment was really successful, further proof questioning such as cited information is necessary.

In conclusion, further questions asking more detailed evidence required for an adequate assessment or a more persuasive argument.