The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors. “Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company’s sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author made his advice based on several assumptions, and to decide to take this advice by not investing in the company should be after answering some questions related to these assumptions.

First of all the survey, are the results of the survey can be trusted? The author should give more details about the survey and what portion of people the survey aimed? , and if this portion can be generalized to the whole population, also even the 80 percent who answered “reducing their consumption of fats products” this does not mean they will get rid entirely of high fat foods, some of these food cannot be replaced and if they can be replaced, some people love them knowing their disadvantage and they might continue buying them in lesser amount. To recap, the survey does not give an accurate measure of the decline the author talks about, if the decline is going to happen at the first place.

Second, the author assumed that the increase in low-fat products will cause a decline in the sales of the high-fat products, but the companies that produce low-fat products might reduce the production of high-fat products. In other words the author should give more details about the level of production of high-fat product, maybe with less production the competence will be reduced and greater sales would be achieved.

Third, the author assumed the company won’t produce low-fat products and here comes the question, what is the company position of producing low-fat products? , and if the decline in purchasing high-fat product is real, is the company going to remain at its old products? , any possible future investor in the company should at first asks questions about the company’s vision related to this new trend of production.

The advice might avoid investor making bad decision if it is based on complete understanding of the whole situation with all the details given by the author.