The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

“To answer the increased demand for artisanal coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a

new line of coffee, ‘Gourmet Select.’ Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee

into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain

sales. After a few months Apex Corporation will run an advertising campaign aimed

at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major

chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make ‘Gourmet

Select’ one of the top sellers in the coffee market.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what

the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

This plan looks pretty good at first, also it might stand and achieve what the company aimed for, but from logical perspective there are some unanswered questions related to some details within the plan.

First of all, the idea of starting a new line based on an increase in a type of coffee does not some logical, what if the new line does not attract consumers? , is the only reason for starting this line is that more be people buy artisanal coffee? , the new line should at least scientifically examined on a certain sample to be sure to achieve the expected result.

Second, the idea that the company is confident that word-of-mouth advertising will work is a 0little bit silly, I am the kind of person who likes to buy things used to buy it seeing something new in the store does not mean to buy it and so many people, the company should advertise it more seriously at first to ensure that people know about, word-mouth advertising is not enough to ensure that, in the contrary this weak type of advertising may hurt the reputation of the product in case some people tried it but did not like it, they might spread among their friends “it is not a good coffee don’t buy it” even if it might be one opinion among others who might like it but this one opinion might accumulate and affect the product in the absence of major advertising proving otherwise.

The product should be advertised to TV and radio immediately after releasing the product because the time the company is waiting such word-mouth takes place another company might produce a similar product and advertise it widely that restaurants would not accept it, or consider it dull product if the word-mouth advertising would not work well and the product did not achieve the sales required in the past few months.

There are a lot of gaps within the company’s plan rather than the bad timing when it comes to advertising the product.